janedavitt: (Default)
( Mar. 29th, 2011 08:07 am)
I love everyone on Castle, but if we had an episode concentrating mostly on these two, I wouldn't mind a bit.

They got some really good scenes in last night's episode and though the banter between them isn't as overtly slashy as it is on some shows (well, okay, sometimes it is...), it's got all these layers going on that make you want to start digging. They're just flat-out adorable and intensely competent. They're not bumbling comic relief to point up how brilliant the main team are. And as we found out this season, they'll die for each other and do it with a snarky quip at the bad guys ::loves::

I'm going to hunt up some fic. I know that [personal profile] coffeebuddha has some great ones.


janedavitt: (bluebellbyme)
( Mar. 29th, 2011 09:00 am)
You've all been very polite about nagging me, knowing that I'm struggling with the new book, but I can hear the mutters: "We didn't friend janedavitt for this. Where are they? We haven't had one for ages! GIVE US A POST ABOUT A BASEMENT FLOOD, DAMMIT."

Well, the wait's over.

It's a small one as our basement floods go (for new readers this is the, uh, fourth? Fifth?) and luckily we caught it quickly.

L needed to take some artificial ivy into school for a play and there was some in the basement from her Halloween costume so just before school she ran down to get it -- and came running back up yelling that the floor was wet.

Same corner, different pipe in the ceiling, another pinhole leak. I turned the water off and I've flushed the loos and opened the taps but the water is still shooting out of it under pressure (don't understand that; surely it would've all drained out by now?). I've wrapped it in duct tape and a towel and positioned buckets. Carpet is wet and the mattress we keep down there for sleepovers is soaked on one corner but that's it, so not too bad. It's been worse.

I've photographed it and sent it to David -- wouldn't you know it, he has customers in, so he can't just come home and fix it.

::sigh::

This is why we'll never finish the basement. Imagine if that pipe had been behind a drywall?

ETA The pipes have finally emptied and no more water is coming out.

pipe with hole in it )
Tags:
janedavitt: (zimbyme)
( Mar. 29th, 2011 07:43 pm)
Fun stuff first: Eleanor just found out that her Invader Zim vid got an Honorable Mention in the vid competition at the convention!

That is so cool. Very proud. Considering she sent it to them the day before the con, they were very kind to consider it at all.

And the fan girls got Andy Berman to say, in Dib's voice, 'I love you, Zim!' at a panel which E has just incorporated into her new vid, heheh. They had the Zim/Dib puppets kissing too. ZADR rules! :-)) (Zim and Dib Romance, apparently)

The flood has been conquered. David managed to come home around 2.00 and we bought 12 ft of copper pipe (Rona kindly cut in in half so we could get it in the car) and we spent a couple of hours replacing all the old pipe on the wall that seems to keep springing the leaks. David's got a metallurgy degree so playing around with blowtorches and solder is fun, Fun, FUN! Until some of the flux stuff dripped on him.

My arms are killing me from holding up pipe near the ceiling but fingers crossed, all is fixed.

I forgot to say that we got a new mattress yesterday. Not that I have to say, but it's often useful to write these things down. Our old one was 14 years old and David and I kept waking up feeling like the Tin Woodman sans oil.

So in a speedy shopping expedition, we bought one, just like that, returning to the first shop, as you do, and it got delivered the very next day.

It is astonishingly high. Seriously, a foot higher. And I bought new pillow which are Everest high too. The girls stared at it in awe and predicted we'd fall out of bed and break things. I pointed out that since we never do fall out of bed, why would we start now, but they were unconvinced.

It's all stuffed full of latex and memory foam and it sort of engulfs you so turning over is a workout but it's very comfy.

Okay, I'm shattered. Off to watch NCIS with an ice-cold vodka and coke...
janedavitt: (gibbstonybyme)
( Mar. 29th, 2011 10:10 pm)
Wow. Two really good episodes, both of them. This is more like it! Too tired to write out thinky thoughts but I enjoyed them a lot and since I tend to post more when I don't enjoy stuff (easier to whinge than to praise ;-)) I'm making an effort tonight.
Tags:
Sam or Steve as manliest man?

Is it wrong that I want them both to win that section of the round?

http://ca.eonline.com/uberblog/watch_with_kristin/b233453_alpha_male_madness_2011_who_will_win.html


It's kind of interesting (polite word) to see the pitched battle between two groups of fans that's going on. I mean, I love 'em both; there isn't going to be a loser for me. They're both men I want standing (in front of me; I'm a wuss) when the monsters attack even if I know their hearts are taken and they'll disappear before the dust settles and the blood dries.

But it's going to get epic in the voting...

::makes popcorn::
.

Profile

janedavitt: (Default)
janedavitt

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags