For the hell of it, I watched 1.02 and 1.03 of NCIS and was left close to weeping at how much better it was then. Oh, sure, they were feeling their way with some stuff, but there were twisty, interesting plots and bodies that were the main focus of the episode. Kate and Tony were snarky highschoolers, without a smidge of UST, Gibbs and Tony were tight because hello, they'd been working together just the two of them for ages, and there were all these zing! moments.

Like Gibbs' tone of voice when he walks in and sees Fornell in his chair and he says,

"You disappoint me, Kate" with this formality and threat and icy disapproval conveyed in a few flat words.

Or, and come on, this is me, you know I'll go there, Tony's head jerking up when cop guy whistles to the drug seeker dog (also called Tony) and says 'Come on, Tony' (there's this frisson, this startled readiness...I want to write puppy play!Tony right now) coupled with the scene in 1.02 when Tony's discovered practicing jumping off things.

He tells Gibbs he's doing it as research for Abby.

Gibbs just looks at him and says "For Abby?". Tony sheepishly says, "Well, maybe I'm serving two masters?"

Gibbs beckons with his finger (TOTAL KINK OF MINE) and says "You're serving one now."

Then we have the 'how did you get this job?' 'I smiled' exchange which is justly adored because you just know he did, but really, is it any wonder there's so much D/s fic in the Gibbs/Tony pairing?

I miss the early seasons :;is wistful::
calime: (Tony&Gibbs slap)

From: [personal profile] calime


A local channel is doing the early seasons' reruns here, and I keep watching and awwing about how young and cute and innocen they all are and telling everyone that NCIS is my comfort show nowadays:)
green_grrl: (boytouch)

From: [personal profile] green_grrl


Yeah. I just did "reading a bunch of slash fics" to "watching all the eps from the beginning" to "watching in real time" within the space of about three months. I pretty much have whiplash from going from \o/ to "dear God, Shane Brennan, NO!" so fast. D:
elmyraemilie: (gibbs we trust casset)

From: [personal profile] elmyraemilie


Yes. I just watched "Mother's Day" over the weekend, and it's the first NCIS episode I really do not like at all. Gibbs is completely out of character, and the plot was transparent from the first five minutes of the show.

I do love me some Gibbs and Tony and McGee and Abby (other team members too), but it was, as most shows are, better in its early seasons.

And a well-written Gibbs is the toppiest top who ever topped. Just pointing out the obvious, because it's so...hot.
scrollgirl: soft happy tommy kinard (ncis ziva)

From: [personal profile] scrollgirl


I did love early NCIS. Never got the kink thing in that fandom, though White Collar is broadening my horizons.

I haven't watched recent seasons though, and can't see myself going back based on stuff I've heard about characterisation being twisted around in unpleasant ways.
hermitsoul: woman wearing a corset (NCIS Gibbs Unamused: moosewizard)

From: [personal profile] hermitsoul


"You're serving one now."

Mmmmm... *stares off dreamily* Yeah, this makes me want to go reread all my Gibbs/Tony bookmarks!
.

Profile

janedavitt: (Default)
janedavitt

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags