Going behind a cut.
In brief:
Not enough Danny at the start.
New girl is just extraneous.
Kono's clearly undercover (come on! She's not going to turn to the dark side just like that) so why not have her team in on it so they've got her back? She knows she can trust them. Hell, even if it was just Chin, it'd make more sense than the lone wolf routine.
Too much Max. Who is still too silly.
Could Steve have been more obvious that I HAVE BEEN LEFT A CLUE!!! in the bar? And why would that man have a year-old paper?
Hated everyone watching in awe as people got slaughtered. Yes, it's a necessary job, I suppose, but to see it play out as entertainment, twice over, once for the people in the room, once for the viewers, was kind of sickening.
Steve. Jumping out of a plane to catch someone in free fall from another plane. Do I need to go into how ridiculously improbable and everything else that was? He wasn't even wearing a helmet, just goggles! I know nothing about parachute jumping, but when we didn't even see his miraculously up in the air at just the right place plane, just hear it, and then they'd have to match up height, velocity...oh, whatever.
Show, I used to love you to bits, but I'm cooling off. Sorry.
In brief:
Not enough Danny at the start.
New girl is just extraneous.
Kono's clearly undercover (come on! She's not going to turn to the dark side just like that) so why not have her team in on it so they've got her back? She knows she can trust them. Hell, even if it was just Chin, it'd make more sense than the lone wolf routine.
Too much Max. Who is still too silly.
Could Steve have been more obvious that I HAVE BEEN LEFT A CLUE!!! in the bar? And why would that man have a year-old paper?
Hated everyone watching in awe as people got slaughtered. Yes, it's a necessary job, I suppose, but to see it play out as entertainment, twice over, once for the people in the room, once for the viewers, was kind of sickening.
Steve. Jumping out of a plane to catch someone in free fall from another plane. Do I need to go into how ridiculously improbable and everything else that was? He wasn't even wearing a helmet, just goggles! I know nothing about parachute jumping, but when we didn't even see his miraculously up in the air at just the right place plane, just hear it, and then they'd have to match up height, velocity...oh, whatever.
Show, I used to love you to bits, but I'm cooling off. Sorry.
Tags:
From:
no subject
Kind of stolen from Point Break. Only in that you had Keanu with no helmet or chute jumping out of a plane. *G* But hell the skydiving in Point Break is why I decided to have a go!
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Yes, yes. This. Way to shove home the American imperialism and the real life habit of the US goverment claiming many many many eyes for every one of its own. It took an episode that had been rescued from meh by Max and by Danny snark and ended it with a sickly feeling.
And OMG Kono is so undercover. Such heavy handed clues like the IA guy coming to her house. I wonder if she's been told they know about the involvement of the rest of the team in the heist and are holding that over her head so she doesn't tell them? Actually, why am I even pretending I can guess how this puppy will go!
I'm feeling close to breaking up. I hope they pull it back to knockabout cross-talk act next week.
From:
no subject
Don't the good guys arrest the baddies and put them on trial anymore?
From:
no subject
A remarkable number seem to be shot while being apprehended.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
As the last Slash Report by rageprufrock put it, Steve getting stabbed or shot and then running a triathlon is just what he calls Saturday morning. Action and plausibility don't even have a nodding acquaintance on this show. :D
And ITA there's too many other people and not enough 5-0. I hope Terry O'Quinn doesn't become the Mike Franks of the show. At least Kono's CSI friend was asking after her, even if no one else did. :-(
I have to say I disagree on the closing scene. I'm generally a bleeding heart, peacenik, hippie. Heck 90% of what they do on the show would have me pitching a fit IRL. But living on the Mexican border, having family in Mexico, knowing what the drug cartels do, a raid that takes a cartel out doesn't even blip for me. The unrealistic part of the show was the cartel assassin staging deaths that didn't look like murder, rather than hacking off the SEALs' heads and posting them on spikes--that's what they do IRL to innocent bystanders, let alone opponents.
The watchers in the scene looked to me to be tense, then relieved that the team wasn't incurring casualties, maybe a tiny bit proud at the success. Still, the others even told Steve in so many words they were unnerved by what they were watching--that he did that too.
From:
no subject
The cartels sound dreadful and I can't imagine living with that threat hanging over you but I still have issues with an American team crossing the border and killing people. Do they ask the Mexican government for permission? Is it sanctioned? I'm trying to picture the reaction if it happened in reverse.
I agree that the convoluted way they went about killing the SEALs wasn't at all in character. What need do they have to be subtle? They're sending a message; you killed all of my family and now I'm taking you out in revenge. You want that message to be loud and clear.