OMG, I just (tried) to install our new modems and cable box with PVR (free for three years and an upgrade on our old one that wasn't a PVR, hell YES, I'm a valued customer ::feels appreciated::).

As you can tell because I'm posting this, I got the internet back ::clings:; though there was an amusing moment or two before I figured out I had to connect thing A to thing B and THEN I had a thing C that could go into the computer and the wall. Or something. If someone had been filming me, they would have passed out laughing.

There's this little instruction page that says 'Advanced Users' on one side and then 'For Easy Connect steps look at the back of this card'. I was proud that I worked out how to flip the card WITHOUT ANY HELP AT ALL.

Then they give you a flash drive you plug in and it takes you through it BUT IT WAS STILL TOO HARD, WHY AM I SO THICK, WHY DO I NOT KNOW A COAXIAL CABLE WHEN I SEE IT, WHY)

The TV, not so good. The man in the shop said the signal (Bat signal? What?) would go out for an hour and then cut off. I guess I missed it with all the faffing about, but when nothing worked I called and got them to send out the signal again. Still not working. As I was reduced to randomly pushing cables into holes in the hopes something would work, that's probably not surprising.

David can fix it when he gets home.

Thank God it's not an England match today, that's all I can say.

ETA, I got cross at myself and went behind the TV again and reseated a cable more securely and it worked! Trying to tape Croatia/Spain on the PVR; fingers crossed.
Tags:

From: [personal profile] hjcallipygian


Did you watch any of the Portugal-Netherlands match yesterday? The way that started, I thought it was going to be 5-4 by the end of the match. I don't know that I've ever watched a match where they hit the post that hard, that often.

From: [personal profile] hjcallipygian


Heh, I usually get upset with people when they don't use his full name. I feel like the Brazilian should have a monopoly on the name "Ronaldo" by itself. =) So yeah, I'm not fond of him, either.

It would've been pretty neat if the Dutch could've pulled off the win by enough to get them through to the next round.
jdjunkie: (Default)

From: [personal profile] jdjunkie


Ronaldo is a git. I've never forgotten how he winked when he got Rooney sent off. Git. Fact.

England match tonight; it's 8.24am and I'm a nervous wreck already. I hate it when we "only need a draw". *wibbles*
jdjunkie: (Default)

From: [personal profile] jdjunkie


It's hell being a football fan.

I'm taking up following the England carpet bowls team instead ...
.

Profile

janedavitt: (Default)
janedavitt

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags